|Monday - Friday:
||8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
||9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
What Is a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC)?
A Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) is a defensive driving course offered online or in the classroom which covers topics like: defensive driving strategies and techniques to reduce the chance of collision; how drugs, alcohol, physical conditions and emotions affect driving decisions; how to deal with driver distractions and fatigue; physical forces of a collision; and the importance of occupant safety devices and how to use them correctly.
Passing a BDIC gives drivers an opportunity to avoid points on their records and the ticket information from being sent to insurance companies. The driver must be eligible to take the course and may only avoid points once under this state-offered program.
A BDIC can only be offered and fulfilled by State of Michigan approved BDIC providers. Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning is an approved State of Michigan BDIC provider and currently offers the BDIC online.
How long does the course take to complete?
The course takes approximately 4 hours to complete but does not need to be done all at once. There is a bookmarking feature that allows you to login and logout as your schedule allows.
How much does the BDIC cost?
Every BDIC provider that offers a course may set their own fees up to a maximum of $100 as permitted by Michigan law. The price of Michigan Drive Safe’s course is listed on our homepage
What is a BDIC provider?
A BDIC provider is approved by the Michigan Department of State. BDIC providers offer a defensive driving curriculum that is online or in the classroom and meets or exceeds the standards set by Michigan law. Only BDIC providers who have been approved by the State of Michigan may provide results to the State of Michigan. Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning
is an approved State of Michigan BDIC provider and currently offers the BDIC online.
In order to become an approved BDIC provider, companies must show how their course meets or exceeds the curriculum of the National Safety Council’s Defensive Driving Program 8th Edition, and provide evidence of effectiveness from a federal, state, or local entity.
What if I miss the 60-day deadline?
The points and the violation will be put on your record and made available to insurance companies. You may be eligible for the BDIC in the future. A notification letter will be sent to you by mail from the Michigan Department of State.
Where is your classroom located?
Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning currently offers the course online. For approved classroom providers, go to the Department of State Web Site
What if I can’t take time off of work for class?
Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning currently offers the course online. You can take the class any time that is convenient for your schedule within your 60-day eligibility period.
How often can I take the BDIC to avoid points on my record?
There is no limit to the number of attempts to pass the BDIC within the 60 days of the notice of eligibility.
If you do not pass the BDIC within 60 days of the notice of eligibility, the points and the violation will be put on your record and made available to insurance companies. However, if you receive a subsequent ticket and are notified that you are eligible again, you may attempt the BDIC for the subsequent ticket.
Who is eligible for this program?
You will receive a letter in the mail if you are eligible for this program. You may be eligible if you were ticketed on or after December 31, 2010 and:
- You have a valid, non-commercial license, with two or fewer points on your record,
- The violation was not in a Commercial Motor Vehicle,
- The violation was not a criminal offense,
- The ticket you received is eligible (e.g., must be for three or fewer points, not for careless or negligent driving, etc.) Most minor traffic violations are eligible for this program.
What would disqualify me from the BDIC program?
You are disqualified if any of the following are true:
- You are in the 60-day period of BDIC eligibility for a previous ticket
- You have already avoided points under this program
- Your license is restricted, suspended, or revoked or you were not issued a Michigan license
- You have three or more points currently on your record
- You held a Commercial Driver's License or were operating a Commercial Vehicle at the time of the ticket
- The ticket you received is not eligible for the program
What tickets are eligible for this program?
Most minor traffic violations
for which you were ticketed on or after December 31, 2010, are eligible for this program. You must not be disqualified from participating for any other reason.
Am I eligible for this program if I am a Michigan driver and received a ticket in another state?
In this case, the ticket would have to be brought over from the other state. This could happen and in these cases, you would receive a notification letter in the mail from the Michigan Department of State if you are determined to be eligible for the BDIC program.
Why did I receive a notice that I was eligible for this program if I recently moved to Michigan and received the ticket in another state?
Your driving record was brought over from the other state. Upon review of your driving record, the Michigan Department of State determined that you were eligible for the BDIC program.
May I take the driver improvement course in another state if I am eligible but will be out of state for a while?
Only BDIC providers who have been approved by the State of Michigan may provide results to the State of Michigan. Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning
is an approved State of Michigan BDIC provider and currently offers the BDIC online. If you are in another state for the 60-day eligibility period, Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning’s online BDIC is a good option for you as it may be taken from any location.
What can I do if I never received a notice that I was eligible?
A notice was mailed to the address listed on your driving record if you were eligible. You are required by law (MCL 257.315) to ensure your address is updated with the Michigan Department of State.
If you are eligible and still within the 60-day eligibility period, you may still use Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning to take the BDIC. If 60 days have passed, the ticket and the points will appear on your record.
What do I do if I lost the letter saying I am eligible for the BDIC?
To provide a course result to the Michigan Department of State, Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning (BDIC provider) needs both your driver's license number (DLN) and the last date you can complete the course. This information is on the letter you received.
If you do not know the date, you may submit a request to the SOS Webmaster and ask for this information. You must provide enough information to identify yourself and to locate your records. For privacy reasons, the Department of State does not provide DLN in response to phone calls, emails, etc. Your DLN is on your license and may be on other documents. If your license has been misplaced or lost, you may purchase a duplicate license. If you cannot obtain a duplicate license, you may purchase your driving record for this information.
How can I check my driving record?
You may purchase a copy of your record from the Record Lookup Unit through the Michigan Department of State Web Site
What happens if I pass the BDIC?
As an approved BDIC provider, Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning will notify the Michigan Department of State electronically that you have passed the course. The Michigan Department of State will not add any points from the ticket to your driving record and will not show the ticket information to insurance companies. The ticket information (but not the points) is still placed on your record, though, and may be used for other purposes.
How do I show that I passed the course?
As long as you pass within the 60-day notice of eligibility, your completion record will be passed to the Michigan Department of State. You do not have to provide any paperwork to the Secretary of State offices. Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning
is an approved State of Michigan BDIC provider and authorized to pass completion records to the Michigan Department of State.
Additionally, Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning offers an optional printed certificate for those who want a printed record of their completion status. The certificate can be used to show proof of completion to other organizations, such as your insurance company, in order to qualify for discounts. Check with your insurance company to see if they offer discounted rates to you for completing a defensive driving course.
What if I don't pass the BDIC?
There is no limit to the number of attempts to pass the BDIC within the 60 days of the notice of eligibility. If you do not achieve a passing score your attempt(s) will be considered a non-completion of the BDIC. If you receive a subsequent ticket and are notified that you are eligible again, you may attempt the BDIC for the subsequent ticket and should contact us to register your subsequent attempt.
Can I appeal if I don't pass?
Course failures or non-completions may not be appealed to the Michigan Department of State.
Remember, Michigan Drive Safe - O/E Learning allows unlimited attempts to pass the course. As long as you pass within the 60-day notice of eligibility, your completion record will be passed to the Michigan Department of State. If you have any questions or concerns about your unsuccessful course completion status and you are within the 60-day completion window, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (855) BDIC-NOW.
Is the completion of the course automatically sent to the secretary of state or will I need to print something off to show completion?
The first business day after you complete the course, we will submit your successful completion status to the Secretary of State. You do not need to do anything further. You can print your course transcript
at any time if you would like a record of your completion.
What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept all major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express), and Visa or MasterCard debit cards.
Can I pay with a credit card other than my own?
Yes, someone you know can purchase the course for you.
Can I use my Debit card to pay?
Yes, you can use your debit card to pay for this course.
Do you accept credit card gift cards?
No, at this time we do not accept credit card gift cards.
I think I have a virus on my computer. Can you register me so that I don’t have to put in my credit card information on my computer?
Yes, you can give us your credit card information over the phone and we can register you for the course.
What happens if my credit card transaction fails?
If your credit card transaction fails, please be sure to check that you entered all of your information correctly:
- Did you enter the credit card number correctly?
- Did you choose the right type of credit card?
- Did you enter the expiration date correctly?
- Did you enter the correct name as it appears on the credit card?
- Did you enter the correct CVV number from your card?
- Does the address match the billing address for your credit card?
How do I know that you will let the state know I took the class?
We are a state-approved provider; and, by law, we must report your completion status within 5 days of you taking the course.
What is your refund policy?
If you purchase the course, but you do not start it, you can contact us at 855-BDIC-NOW or 855-234-2669 to request a refund. Once you start the course, we cannot refund you for the course.
What system requirements do I need to meet to take the online course?
You need to have Adobe Flash Player installed. To enjoy the full benefits of the online course you will need to have sound and a sound output device, such as speakers or headphones. To view optional content, Adobe Reader is also recommended. Click here to see if you have Adobe Flash and Adobe Reader installed
. If you do not have Flash or Adobe Reader installed or if you need an updated version, you can download the required applications from the following links:
Please follow the steps below to print a copy of your Records/Transcripts when you have successfully completed the course. If you would like to purchase an official National Safety Council certificate of completion, you can order one by calling 1-855-234-2669, or visit www.midrivesafe.com
- Go to www.midrivesafe.com. (If already logged in, proceed to step #4 below.)
- Click on Returning Customer login, in the upper right side of the homepage.
- Login with your E-Mail address and password.
- Click on the green Go To Training button.
- Click on My Transcript, located in the left side menu.
- Click on the Basic Driver Improvement course title.
- Click on the PRINT button at the bottom to print a copy of your Records/Transcript page.